fabric market

My cook made spaghetti for me for the weekend…he only comes here on weekdays, so I have that…leftover curry chicken & vegetables, fruit, corn flakes and pringles to hold me over till Sunday(the start of the work week here).  He fixed my flip flops this morning…yesterday the strap on one tore off of the base.  If I had another pair I would’ve thrown them away but they’re all I have!  Everyone here wears sandals all the time…I’m going to need to get some new ones.

Today we were picked up at 10am and went to pick up 4 other people before heading to the fabric market.  It was 3 full time employees and 3 interns including me.  I was the only new person so I just followed their lead.  It took about an hour and a half to get there, simply because of traffic.  Part of the way was like a freeway though, so there are lanes and stop lights here…just in certain areas.

The market was lots of multistory buildings, and each “shop” was just a little room inside…each was probably 5 feet wide by 12 feet long.  They all had tiled floors and as you enter you’re supposed to take your shoes off (sandals would make life alot easier…I was wearing boots so I just stood outside most).  It was incredibly hot…hot enough that my face was sweating.  We were there for probably 3 hours, going between buildings…they were all looking for specific fabrics and trims.  It was SO crowded…it was a little scary sometimes because it is so easy to get separated from people, and I was walking behind everyone.

At one point, a man came up to me and stood right next to me and kept asking “Where you from?” I didn’t know if I was supposed to ignore him or what!  Once I said US, he just walked away.  One of the girls was wearing shorts and this man walked by and said “disgusting” like 4 times…he kept looping around and walking back…and he would just stand in the aisle staring.  There were very few women, only in one section did I see women working in shops…it was all men and young boys.  Walking through; by the stairs we saw a pile of dead chickens, and at one shop there were boys playing with a dead mouse…kicking it towards us because that is fun apparently.  You can tell when you’re being mocked even if it’s happening in another language, that and the amount of people is all that made me uncomfortable.

I wanted to take pictures there, but I didn’t.  I didn’t know how people would react to me pointing my camera towards them and I didn’t want to find out really.  I did take horrible video from the car on the way back though, enjoy!

Leave a Reply

