leftovers

There’s a building at work called Leftovers…and it is exactly what it sounds like.  Leftover ready to ship clothing, leftover scraps, leftover ripped clothing, leftover fabric, etc etc…but anyone can go and buy whatever they want there.  I’ve gone three times…today being the most recent.  I’ve got a few things that I’m going to just leave here, some things that don’t fit how I want…and a few things that turned out to be awesome.  Nothing costs more than 200 taka (just under 3 dollars)…so basically if you see something you like or MIGHT like…just buy it.  Recently the building has become packed with bags of clothing…it was nothing like this the first time I went.  You have to climb on top of the fabric mountain, and you will most likely fall down in it…or even lose a shoe (flip flops are a bad idea in there)…and you WILL sweat….no question about it…it is HOT in there…but the reward is greater than the chase, and apparently tomorrow is going to be one of the best days to go…a ton of Zara stuff is being added.

This was my best score of the day…an awesome mens sweater…big, comfy, and long enough to wear with leggings.  Perfect for anyplace but here…the weather has cooled off but it’ll never cool off to the point that anyone would wear this here…well, people that know what cold weather is wouldn’t.  Yesterday we saw men wearing scarves like it was cold out or something (it’s cooled off but it is still in the 80’s, and still tank top weather).

I have less than a month until I fly back to the States…and honestly; I’m not ready.  It has nothing to do with work; I’ll be starting my final samples once my boss is back, and I see everything being done in time; no problem.  It has to do with the changes I’ve seen in myself and the fear that things are going to go back to how they were before I came.  It has to do with the people I’ve met here and that I will be saying final goodbyes.  It has to do with the fact that for once, I am living with no regrets.

2 thoughts on “leftovers

  1. I’m proud of you, Jessica. :’) You seem to really have branched out with all these new experiences. I don’t think you should worry about things going back to how they were when you come home…changes like that tend to stick, even if they’re just small changes.
    Anyway, I can’t wait to hear all about your time there in person! 😀

Leave a Reply

