early christmas gift

My camera is completely broken.  I was ready to buy a new one, but my parents asked me to wait until Christmas…that wasn’t going to happen…so my dad let me choose which one I wanted and bought it for me and I got it that same day.  It’s so nice, and has 16 megapixels!  Crazy.  I randomly found out that I can control the shutter speed and aperture on manual mode as well, which was super exciting…I’ve always wished my point & shoot cameras would allow me to do that.  So far so good, it takes awesome pictures…which I could show you if I hadn’t deleted them all!  It was a total accident, I was on the phone…distracted and forgot that I hadn’t imported them to the computer before I deleted them off of the camera itself.

My stomach has finally gotten back to normal…so I’ve been able to have my Starbucks and Taco Bell.  I got to see two of my friends and give them their Christmas gifts.  I have fun wrapping presents, so it’s been fun putting stuff together for people.  I have a bit of shopping to do here, but I’m leaving it for Friday/Saturday.  I’m still in the process of unpacking.  I have yet to really feel the “Christmas spirit”…but I’ve also been stuck in the house for so long, that I’ve only been out a few times and haven’t really come across Christmasy stuff.  Saturday I have plans to go to the city and I’m pretty excited about that.  Get to give presents to a friend, get to see all the pretty decorations, and just get to be in a real city again…and enjoy that whole vibe.

It’s just been a week since I’ve been back, but it feels like it’s been so much longer.  Dhaka feels like it’s a world away.  One of the first things I realized that I had missed was something that I’d never even considered: carpet.  When I was first barefoot in my room it felt so strange, and I realized that I had really missed the feeling of carpet under my feet.  It’s also very nice that I can walk around barefoot and won’t have to wash my feet after…the ground was always filthy at our house in Bangladesh no matter how much we swept/mopped.

I dyed my hair back to dark brown and it feels so much better.  My roots were so so bad.  I thought I wanted to stick with the blonde but decided to go with the cheapest option, which is brown.  But I’ve missed that too…I like my hair darker, at least I can say I tried blonde for awhile.  The only thing I am missing is a hair straightener (have to wait until Christmas for that), and I will be happy.

Driving again has been great.  I love that I have control over my life here…I don’t have to rely on a driver to get me places.  If I want to leave, I can leave whenever I want.  If there’s somewhere specific I want to go…no problem, I don’t have to agree on places with those I live with.  I can play my music as loud as I want, I can sing along like a crazy person…it’s all me and it’s all mine.

One thought on “early christmas gift

  1. I’m bad at sleeping so I’m still up. I like the darker hair tooo.. and the camera looks cool! sleeeeeeeeeep time

Leave a Reply

