new housemate

I brought Max back with me after my trip up north last weekend.  I was nervous for how he was going to act, but he handled it really well.  He cried for maybe an hour, then was completely silent for the rest of the trip (5 more hours).  Once in my apartment, he hid under my desk, then my bed.  The next night after work, he was still hiding, but came out and looked around a bit.  He seems to have adjusted now pretty well.  He’s eating and using his litter box (minus one gift he left today). He’s been dragging his red mouse toy all over too (he did the same before, at home)…I always see it in new places.

We had an exciting Friday night tonight.  The last two days of work (before today) were super stressful for me, and I stayed late both days…so I didn’t have time to look at my mail until tonight.  I cleaned up a little bit, and also put out my new salt & pepper shakers that I bought when I was at home on Monday.

I’m really not this messy.  I knew I was going to clean it up right away so I didn’t care while I was going through it.

And now on a completely different note (or if I really want to grasp at straws I can say that the elephants lead into this….): 

Marriage Traditions and where they come from!

A week or so ago I was reading an article about Mark Zuckerberg’s wedding, here.  There is one section that I found really interesting…wedding traditions of today and their intended purpose/origin.  They’re not so romantic.  Here is said section:

We have a lot of really great wedding traditions! These traditions are super special mostly because of how far back they date. In fact, most of them pre-date the very recent historical era in which women are not property.

For instance, a groom’s best man used to have duties beyond hiring the strippers. When the groom rode into a neighboring village in the middle of the night to abduct his bride from her home and family, he was going to need backup. He definitely used his “best” man for this mission.

At the wedding ceremony, he needed someone to stand next to him, well armed, to protect him if the bride’s family launched a rescue mission. (The bride stands to the left of the groom at a wedding so that his right hand is free to grab a weapon.)

When this charming groom took his bride back to his home to consummate the marriage, his best man stood watch so that the groom could defile his bride without interference from her concerned family. (The groom carries the bride over the threshold of the bedroom not as a chivalrous gesture, but because she was often terrified and unwilling to go voluntarily.)

When a marriage was agreed to by a bride’s father, it was customary for the groom to give him a precious stone as a part of the dowry, to signal his sincere intent to go through with the marriage. Diamond engagement rings come out of this tradition of men buying and selling women.

All those flowers you absolutely have to shell out thousands for? That’s thanks to the tradition of women walking down the aisle with a bouquet of garlic and herbs to drive away evil spirits.

Tying shoes to the back of the getaway car is a friendly reminder of the days when a bride’s father took her shoes away on her wedding day and gave them to the groom. It was a symbol of the transfer of power: Now she answers to her husband. It sends a convenient second message: She can’t run away. They took her shoes.

Blatant misogyny aside, the “traditional” American wedding – the one that averages $26,000 today – didn’t exist until the mid-1800s. A growing American middle class saw Queen Victoria marry Prince Albert in a stunning white satin gown, and an entire industry cropped up around weddings, with a new breed of professional cranking out cookie-cutter special days for hefty fees.

After the social upheaval of the 1960s, some ‘70s brides opted for alternative and unique weddings, but Princess Di’s fairytale wedding in 1981 put a quick kibosh on that. We went straight back to whitewashed extravagance.

Fascinating!  I’d love to research this further.

Leave a Reply

