the weekend that never was

The majority of my weekend was centered around work, so it doesn’t really feel like I got my normal “weekend break”.  Once I woke up Saturday I had to get ready and go to work.  I went to help out with a photoshoot.  It was fun to see the clothing styled and on models.  There’s a lace jacket that I fell in love with and want to buy once it’s available.

Once I got home from that, I had to start an art project for work.  Every so often, the visuals team organizes art projects for the design teams to do.  We had a bird cage project awhile ago that we had our intern do for our team.  There are no interns right now, so this project fell to me.  The concept was based on an artist who recreates famous artwork using collage.  I chose a Picasso piece, and hauled the big ugly orange canvas home.  (These were probably store displays at some point so maybe I shouldn’t call it ugly…but they chose to have us cover them up for a reason…)

I was cooking dinner when I started, so I went to the kitchen for a few minutes and when I came back the cat was laying on the canvas, stretching it out.  So I had to close him off in the other room and re-stretch it.

I stayed up late last night working on it and went back to it first thing today.  I finished the collage part this afternoon and went to the mall for a bit then came back and finished it up by painting the sides black.

……..

While I’m on the subject of art, last week I was shown an article about an old woman who was “retouching” a hundred year old Spanish painting of Christ, and apparently reached the point when she should’ve stopped but just kept going.  It’s so bad, but it’s so hilarious.  I laugh every time I look at it or even think about it.  I feel bad for this poor woman, but what was she thinking!?


You can see the article here.

Leave a Reply

