weekend in la with mom

My mom came to visit me this weekend, and she brought cool weather with her!  It rained, and was cloudy pretty much until she left this afternoon.

We went to the LACMA, and the first thing we did was go check out the La Brea Tar Pits.  There are pits all over the park and you can go look at the one they are currently working on excavating.  The Page Museum which is in the same park as the LACMA exhibits the bones they’ve found in the pits from animals that became trapped and were preserved in the tar.  I didn’t really know anything about the tar pits, so it was interesting to go see animals that they’ve found over the years and to learn about the place!

The craziest display was the Dire Wolf skulls.  The remains of over 1600 wolves have been found there!  They must not have been a very smart bunch.


After the Page Museum we headed over to the LACMA.  The museum is pretty large so we spent quite awhile there.  It was pretty quiet too which was nice.  I was really inspired by the artwork, it re-ignited my urge to draw.  It was fun to view all the old sculptures & artifacts as well.

Saturday night we went to Downtown Disney to explore the stores and walk around.  We watched the making of caramel apples for a few minutes, there are a lot of cute different ones in there!  I’ve had a Minnie Mouse one before courtesy of my friend Leyla and they are pretty awesome.  Can’t wait to go back and see the Christmas ones!

I also ended up buying myself a little buddy: Duffy the Disney bear.

Today we stayed around the area and just did some shopping until about 1 when mom headed home.  I brought Duffy bear everywhere and he had some adventures.

I haven’t hung out with my mom in awhile so it was fun, and it was good to get out and see new things I haven’t seen in LA yet.

Leave a Reply

