joshua tree national park

I love early mornings on the weekend before the world has woken up, that’s my favorite time…ever. 

I went to Joshua Tree National Park this morning.  I’ve found in the last few years that I really like the desert.  It’s so full of extremes.  For example, it was 50-60 degrees but the sky was clear which meant that it was hot and cold at the same time.  I wore a sweater for most of the morning because it was really cold, but with the sun on me it was hot too!

The Joshua trees have been called “Dr. Seuss” trees because of the odd way they grow.  I just love that they don’t have a predetermined growth path.  Who ever said a tree has to grow up, what if it wants to grow sideways or downward?  Whoever said a tree has to be “this” shape, what if it wants to be it’s own shape?  I find them inspiring because they are uniquely their own, and they grow with no regret.  They’re not trying to be the perfect Joshua tree, they are glorious in their individual imperfectness.  Because of that though, sometimes they grow in a direction that works against them when they become big.  They crumble when the branches become too heavy.  There are a lot of “skeletons” around the trees.

I stopped at Keys View, where you can look down and see Palm Springs, Coachella Valley, the Salton Sea, the San Andreas fault line, and supposedly Mexico on a clear day.  I had no idea what I was looking for that was “Mexico” in the distance, but I found everything else!

(Trying to use my touchscreen like a tablet…FAIL)

Another really cool thing to look at in this park is the rocks…they are performing quite the balancing act!  Do you see the same thing as I do in the below picture?  A man laying down with something sitting on his stomach.

Big nosed face.

I then visited the Cholla Cactus Garden…I don’t think I’ve ever seen the ombre effect in nature before, pretty awesome.

Lastly I hiked the 3 mile loop to the Fortynine Palms Oasis.  I had visions of the scene in Aladdin where he and the Genie stop in the oasis after their escape.  Ok, it wasn’t quite the same but after hiking in the heat (by this time there was no shade and barely any wind to hold the cold) it was a sweet relief.  There was a small pond, and birds and crickets breaking up the silence.

On my way home, I made a second stop at the Cabazon dinosaurs.

Leave a Reply

