my week in a square

weekinsquare32

1.  Gym days – more about that below  2. Finished little llama twin.  I bought more of this fuzz/fur & have an adorable llama in mind for the next one  3. My new little notebook  4.  Wearing my gym shirt while not moving

Adventures in Fitness

Week one of the gym-going meant taking it slow and going every other day because after each time I was SORE.  The first two visits I did the same thing, treadmill/bike then to the circuit room…the circuit room was intense after the second time.  I went to work that day and in the words of my co-worker, I looked like Mr. Burns from The Simpsons.  I could not for the life of me, straighten my arms.  My muscles were so tight, that my arms were at little more than a 90 degree angle.  I had to hold things as I walked, or pretend to have an itch or anything to keep people from noticing that my arms were forever bent.  That lasted into the next day also, but by the end of that day I could straighten them!  That was a victorious moment.  Once I gained back the use of my arms, I went back to the gym.  This time I focused just on my legs.  I did the elliptical for the first time…I never knew how difficult that could be.  I made it a half mile, and had to stop.  When I got off, my legs were begging me to collapse.  I couldn’t walk normally, and was afraid that I would actually fall over!  I used a couple of the weight machines, and headed to the treadmill.  My legs were really sore after that, and they still are today.  It’s obviously not going to be a walk in the park, but I am not just talking about getting into shape anymore…I am doing it, and that’s all that really matters.

Leave a Reply

