the x-rays didn’t show anything, except that he’s obese

I had a voice mail from the vet saying the above about Max….with a “which we already knew” at the end.

I had to take my cat to the vet yesterday morning after his urine became red from the blood in it.  They did the whole nine yards to check him out, ultrasound, x-rays, urine tests, etc.  He had to hang out there all day, and I wasn’t able to pick him up before they closed so he was boarded overnight.

The vet I saw yesterday made sure I knew he was obese (17 pounds), while I was there and later when she called me with some results.  “The x-rays didn’t show anything, except that he is obese which we already knew”….I found that comment hilarious and totally unnecessary.  The vet I saw today when I picked him up made no mention of his weight, and one of the nurses even told me her cats are about 18 pounds each.

Well the results are in: he has a urinary tract infection.  So he is on antibiotics & painkillers for the next week.  I already see improvement so I am optimistic he’ll be better quickly.  When I was leaving the vet, I set the carrier box next to my car so I could open the door and put him in, and a trail of pee was coming from the box going down the sidewalk.  It was funny/embarrassing & happy because it was yellow…no sign of blood!

IMG_5720

He was seriously unhappy when I first got there today.

IMG_5729Painkillers knocked him out!

 

One thought on “the x-rays didn’t show anything, except that he’s obese

Leave a Reply

