valentine’s day

I started prepping for Valentine’s Day a few weeks early this year.  I made tiny pinatas & succulent planters for my team at work.  They were both simple little DIY projects that were tons of fun to make.

succulent1

This one is pretty straight forward.  I transferred the succulents from their pots into little tins that I had poked holes in the bottom of for drainage (using a nail & hammer).  These tins came with lids that I put on the bottom to catch water.  Once they were all nestled in their new tin homes, I added washi tape & cupid arrows I had also made.

IMG_7348

I made the arrows using tiny dowels and paper scraps.  I painted some, stained some, and covered some in glitter.

IMG_7349Then the fun part, making it look like cupid was playing target practice.

IMG_7355

 

heart pinatas

The pinatas were made using pre-made paper mache heart boxes from the craft store.  I put little bags of cookies inside & used tissue paper to seal the outside.  This was also pretty simple: cut the tissue paper into strips & cut upward into the strips about halfway.  After that, just glue one strip on at a time for the front & back of the boxes…once those are done, then put the goodies inside and apply the strips the same way on the sides until it’s all sealed!

IMG_7417

My Valentine’s Day

IMG_7433

They handed us heart balloons as we walked into work.

IMG_7442

My stash minus the little snow globe that Zherra made with a picture of us inside.

IMG_7448

They did a butterfly release on the roof.  I don’t agree with putting live creatures in a tiny envelope…it was nice to see them flying away but sad at the same time.  Vernon is a bad place to release them, since it’s industrial…there are barely any plants around.

After work I drove for 10 million hours to San Francisco & got super frustrated because I was trying to use Siri on my phone to find a gas station off the 101 and this is how that went:

  • Where’s the nearest gas station?  “Playing something by some band”
  • WHERE’S THE NEAREST GAS STATION?  “It is now 12 whatever o’clock”
  • You’re not helpful.  “Facetime calling home”

So I found a gas station the old fashioned way (taking an exit and hoping to run into one) & paid for gas and selected the grade and then the pump told me to pay again.  So I did and then it was declined so I went inside and it was declined there also.  So I had to call the bank to get my card unblocked at 1am.  When I finally got to Bruce’s place, these were waiting for me:

IMG_7522

I told him I wanted that awkward rhino a long time ago (isn’t it so cute?), that was a good surprise…and yay candy!

 

Leave a Reply

