adventure #7: crystal cove, newport beach

I drove through Newport Beach for the first time & it was all I’d ever imagined it to be…luxurious & beautiful.  Crystal Cove State Park embodies that too…I think it’s the prettiest state park I’ve ever been in.  You can tell that this park is well taken care of; making the $15 entrance fee fair.

IMG_7108

I chose to visit here because it’s not far from me, it’s large, & for the historical district on the beach.  There’s a whole other side to the park with hiking trails in the hills on the other side of PCH, but I just stuck to the beach side this time.  What I learned once I set foot on the beach is that there are massive tide pools to explore.  I wasn’t expecting that so I was wearing flip flops…whoops.

IMG_6927

IMG_6984

IMG_7013

IMG_6963

IMG_7019

IMG_7041

This was the Northern end of the park, toward the south is the historic district.  What’s there are beach cottages that were built in the 30’s/40’s and are in disrepair.  There are newer buildings now and it is it’s own little community.  There are rentals, restaurants, a bar, shops, & a movie set museum (it’s the cottage from the 1988 movie “Beaches”).  I picked up a brochure in the visitor center and they have a list of all the movies that were filmed in the park…there’s quite a few.  I wasn’t visiting for that though, I wanted to see the old cottages!

IMG_7060

IMG_7061

IMG_7068

IMG_7077

IMG_7081

IMG_7092

IMG_7098

IMG_7105

Just a snippet of what the area looks like when leaving the park…so pretty.

photo(12)

Leave a Reply

