1 down, 2 to go

I hit an important milestone that I’ve been watching on the horizon for the last couple of months.  It’s taken a lot of time, and a lot of determination but tonight I paid off one of my credit cards in full.  All of my debt is in credit cards, and a year ago I owed a total of $10,000.  A year ago I was also living paycheck to paycheck…literally.  My checking account would occasionally go into the negative, or I would have $30 to last me until I got paid again.  It was very difficult, and for the first time in my life I was denied credit when I applied for more to help make ends meet.  That was the point that I decided to stop charging, and only use what I actually had.  I took all my cards out of my wallet and put them somewhere so I couldn’t use them.

I’ve always been good with money, and saving.  It wasn’t until my last year of college that I started accumulating debt that kept growing.  Thankfully, I now live comfortably without fear of not being able to pay bills or get gas for my car.  I’ve been putting as much as I can towards my credit cards, and I’ve been seeing my total go down each month and that feels great.  I’m not at the halfway point yet, but I am so much closer than I was before.  There is light at the end of the tunnel and I am making my way toward it slowly but surely.  I even have money in savings, which I haven’t had for years.  Paying bills has become fun, and I always look forward to pay day so that I can later sit down and pay everything for the month.

Here is a bad photo with my finger in it from my hike last weekend…someone was telling me something.

IMG_9449

3 thoughts on “1 down, 2 to go

  1. Well congratulations 🙂 I did the same with my credit cards during my bad days. I think money management is required because I really don’t know about people but yes money remains with you during your bad time. YES, YES you made it…This is wonderful. Hope you are doing well!

Leave a Reply

