diy: pallet planter

I recently acquired a miniature pallet thanks to my friend Jessup’s fiance.  I made it into a planter today, & it’s now sitting alongside my palm tree & succulents outside of my apartment.  I filled it with what other than; succulents.  I went to a nursery a little further from my house & had fun pushing the big cart around while choosing my selection of succulents.  I love the ones that look like big flowers & one of the plants looks like octopus tentacles which is pretty cool!

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset

I did my planter backwards compared to what I’ve seen most people do.  Most people use the side with all the boards and have the plants come out through that but I wanted to use big plants so I went for the backside and made it look like 2 shelves of plants.  I stapled landscaping fabric in the pallet to create the plant bed…so the water will drain super easily, which these guys need.  After that I just started packing in the plants.  This diy doesn’t take too much time or effort, the hardest part was getting my staple gun to work…it kept jamming.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset

And that’s that!  That is now sitting next to my door and my other plants are on the other side of it.  I recently re-planted my palm tree as well.

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset

3 thoughts on “diy: pallet planter

Leave a Reply

