plants playing dead

Succulents are awesome little plants.  Besides being interesting to look at and easy to care for, they’re basically immortal.  I’m not the greatest with plants, normal plants die pretty quickly under my care.  I’ve been pretty good with succulents for the most part but there have been a few that have died because of me.  I know their secret though.  When they’re dead…they’re most likely not.  They’re just playing dead.  I’ve taken those dead guys and put them right back into the soil and continued to water them like nothing was wrong…and you know what?  Sooner or later, roots sprout and it came back to life.  I’ve been propagating them without even knowing it.  I have a tiny dead succulent sitting on my kitchen window sill right now…all of the leaves are withered and only 2 of them are still somewhat green.  I’m not throwing it out though, I knew it was just playing with me so I kept watering it.  Today I examined it and lo and behold…there are new roots growing off of the withered leaves.

I went to the nursery this afternoon to get a plant that I could put into my lantern from IKEA.  I got what’s known as “Mother in Law’s Tongue” and realized when I got home it won’t fit into the lantern.  So I decided…it’s time to purposefully and intentionally propagate my succulents.  I cleaned up my pallet planter and took leaves from the plants I wanted to clone (aka every variety I have).  For the next few days they’re going to be drying out & pretty soon I’ll put them in their soil nursery so they can sprout baby roots/leaves.

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset

I also bought a lettuce plant today…it was too pretty to pass up…especially at 2 dollars!

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset

 

3 thoughts on “plants playing dead

Leave a Reply

