bonsai & cacti pillows

Yesterday I went to a nursery in my area that I had yet to visit…a bonsai nursery!  I left with two little guys, a chinese elm & I don’t know what the other is…it’s a flower bush.  I am fascinated by the elm tree, the leaves are so tiny.  I chose one that had moss growth over the soil so it really adds to the faerie look of it.  There’s even a tiny “log” from a branch that fell.  The flower bush has tiny blooms on it also.

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset

I bought the flower bush with an ulterior motive…I wanted to try making a string garden, or “Kokedama”…which is basically a plant suspended in a soil ball on it’s own without a pot or container to hold it.  When I was forming the soil into a ball, a lone resident surprised me by crawling out…there was a worm inside, thankfully I didn’t smash it!  You’re supposed to use a clay based soil to form the ball, but I didn’t want to spend the money on a giant bag of soil for one little project.  I used the planter paper stuff I put on my pallet planter to wrap the ball and keep everything together.  Water can go through that still…so hopefully it won’t be an issue.  To finish it off I tied moss around it.  It reminds me of the Little Prince…it’s like a tiny planet.

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset

After that I made a super basic macrame hanger so that I could hang my flower bush planet in the window.

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset

I was in a DIY mood yesterday so when I was done with the bonsai, I made two cactus pillows for my couch.  I had seen this tutorial on Brit.Co & had to try it for myself.  It was really quick & easy.  I added a couple pom poms for fun & that was that!

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset

Leave a Reply

