nothin’ but a copycat

Coffee Bean carries “nothin’ but” snacks and I recently tried the granola cookies which are awesome.  I can pronounce all of the ingredients which is important so I know it’s a good product, but the 2-3 bucks spent on it each time is not good.  I had a few of the ingredients in my cupboard already so I picked up the rest & made my own copycat version at home.

IMG_0266

Their ingredients:

  • Almonds
  • Oats
  • Semi-Sweet Chocolate
  • Honey
  • Unsweetened Coconut
  • Organic Cane Sugar
  • Olive Oil
  • Oat Flour
  • Vanilla
  • Sea Salt
  • Cinnamon
  • Espresso Powder

IMG_0270

My Ingredients:

  • Oats
  • Unsalted Peanuts
  • Sweetened Coconut
  • Semi-Sweet Chocolate
  • Chia Seeds
  • Brown Sugar
  • Vanilla
  • Sea Salt
  • Honey
  • Cinnamon

IMG_0275

Then it was just a matter of mixing whatever amounts I wanted of everything in a bowl.  I had to google what temperature to cook it at but otherwise I was just guessing.  I was hoping I would be able to form it into discs like the packaged version but the honey wasn’t enough to hold anything together.  I baked it at 300 degrees for 20 minutes and it came out perfectly golden brown.

Final comparison:

IMG_0278

Theirs is a nice solid disc you can hold onto…mine is a pile better suited for a spoon.  Despite that, I am happy to say that after taste testing both, I prefer my version.  Wahoo!

2 thoughts on “nothin’ but a copycat

Leave a Reply

