ciclavia

Last weekend was CicLAvia in downtown Los Angeles.  It’s a day when they close major roads so that people can enjoy the city by bike, foot, skate, scooter, or anything else besides a car.  I found out about it from a random flyer in a boba cafe the week before.  I’ve lived in LA county for almost 4 years and I still haven’t explored that much of downtown because I hate paying to park, or hunting for free parking.  So this was a perfect opportunity for me to see it on foot.  I made sure to leave early so parking wouldn’t be as difficult, and it seemed like no one else had that idea because I easily found free parking in the Arts District.

So I left my car and walked for the next few hours.  I went to both ends of the route and after all was said and done I had walked just about 9 miles.  It was nice to get out there, wandering around the city was one of my favorite things to do when I was going to school in San Francisco.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

The mayor came out to speak to everyone at the end I started on.

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with b5 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with b5 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with b5 preset

I meandered off the path to explore a little bit more and saw some familiar landmarks, like the Walt Disney Concert Hall.

Processed with VSCOcam with b5 preset

There’s a new museum called The Broad which is near here, it looks tiny in comparison to the buildings surrounding it.  It’s on my list of places to see once tickets are available again.  Out front they have these planters which look like they’re bursting out of the sidewalk.  Anytime I see things like this it reminds me of my Photography class.  My final project had been about the relationship between the man-made & nature.  My teacher told me to keep with that theme and continue it past the class…it’s something I tend to focus towards but I’ve never done it as a continuation of that project.  Maybe I will have to assign myself with that task to sharpen my photography skills more.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset

So I began in the Arts District and at the other end was MacArthur Park, where the lake is filled with tons of hand painted spheres.  There was a couple canoeing around the edge of the lake which was kinda funny to see…there was no room for them.  Then at one point the spheres got too close and the guy ended up popping one with his oar!  He shoved it in front of himself in the canoe and kept on like nothing had happened.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Then from MacArthur Park I headed back towards the Arts District & back to my car.

Processed with VSCOcam with b5 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with b5 preset

Once back in the vicinity of my car I saw that the road was closed all the way over the bridge.  So I pressed on further even though my feet were killing me as I had not worn proper shoes for so much walking.  But it was worth it of course for the view and the photo opportunity.

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Then back to my car I went, with a successful exploration of downtown LA under my belt.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with b5 preset

 

Leave a Reply

