chasing wildflowers in death valley

Death Valley is in the middle of a “superbloom” right now, due to the El Nino rains we’ve been having.  It’s a rare event that doesn’t happen very often at all, so people are taking advantage of the opportunity to see this “once in a lifetime” sight…myself included.  It’s a little over a 4 hour drive to get there, so last Sunday morning I left at 3am so that I could get there when the sun was coming up.  It was an interesting decision of mine to start driving right as a downpour was hitting.  The freeway that I took had large areas under construction so the lines on the road were almost invisible, and I kept hitting puddles and feeling like my car was going to hydroplane.  Also there were no cities/towns/gas stations/anything to add light…just my headlights and a few other cars in pitch black.  So as soon as I found a big rig, I stuck behind them going granny speed until I got to my exit.  Eventually I had to turn off onto another highway and a section of it was gravel and it was the most bumpy thing I have ever driven on and it felt like it went on forever.  Shortly after I got back onto normal road, I saw the sign for Death Valley.  Thank goodness…I had made it!

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset

I got into the park at 8am, and there were already a lot of people out.  My first stop was Mesquite Flat Sand Dunes.

Processed with VSCOcam with lv03 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with lv03 preset

It actually worked in my favor that a few of the roads are closed due to rain damage.  There is a lot to see & do and I only had one day to do it so I spent my time on the main roads in the heart of the park.  After the dunes, I started my wildflower hunt…which wasn’t a hunt since I already knew where to go.  I had emailed beforehand to find out where the best viewing spots are: Mud Canyon Rd, Beatty Cutoff, & the south end of Badwater Rd.  Mud Canyon Rd/Beatty Cutoff had the most variety on flowers that I saw…and Badwater Rd had the blankets of the Desert Gold flowers.

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset

Working my way south, I stopped at Badwater Basin, which is where the salt flat is.  Fun fact: Badwater Basin is the lowest elevation in North America at 282 feet below sea level.  I walked out far enough that I wasn’t seeing much dirt or footprints so I ate some of the salt.  It was windy everywhere in the park but it was ridiculously windy here…windy enough that as I walked I would end up kicking myself.

Processed with VSCOcam with a5 preset

Afterward I continued south to see more of the flowers, before turning around and heading back north.

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Here’s a good photo to show the wind…not easy to try and get close ups!

Processed with VSCOcam with a6 preset

On the way back I went on the Artists Drive loop…the minerals in the ground cause the rocks to be all different colors.  This was a really neat area.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with a5 preset

The main stop here is Artists Palette where the colors are most vibrant/condensed into one area.

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset

One of the most interesting flowers was the Gravel Ghost because of how it’s anchored to the ground.  The leaves form a flat base to secure it into the earth…I’m assuming so it can handle the wind?

Processed with VSCOcam with a6 preset

My very last stop before heading home was the Devils Cornfield.  It was a giant field intersected by the road…full of these weird shrub/dirt mound things.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

What a treat it was for me to get to see Death Valley so full of life!

Leave a Reply

