nextbit robin

After almost 4 years with my iPhone 4S, I have gotten a new phone.  Nothing was wrong with my phone but it was running slowly and it would freeze, so it felt like a good time to replace it.  Originally my plan was to buy the new iPhone SE…which would be very familiar to the 4S, except for the slightly larger screen, better camera, and it would run much faster.  The 16GB storage would remain the same and the phone itself would still be small scale.  I was never bothered by the screen size…but the storage space was a thorn in my side.  I was always running out of space & always deleting things to try to make room to take a couple more pictures (even though I regularly moved photos off the phone to my computer).

So before I ordered the SE, I researched other phones that were in a similar price range.  It was then; that I happened upon the Nextbit Robin.  The design caught my eye right away, and I liked that this was a new company trying to do something a bit different than what the “big guys” are doing.  Basically their main selling point is that you’re not going to run out of storage space.  You get 32 GB on board, and then on top of that you get 100 GB of cloud storage.  I highly doubt I will pass the 32 GB limit, but if I do…the phone is automatically going to move apps I rarely use into my cloud space.  If I want the app back, I just have to click on it and it will shoot it back onto my phone with all the data intact.

I compared the specs between the Robin and SE, and for what I want from a phone…both offered the same thing, except the Robin offered double the in phone storage space, a more intriguing design, and a savings of $100 (it was on sale on Amazon at the time).  So I ordered it, and have been using it for the past week.  So far I am pleased and happy with the decision I made.

Once it arrived, I knew I was onto something special…the thought that was put behind the packaging was really impressive, it’s obvious that great pride was taken in the creation of this phone/brand.

Processed with VSCOcam with a6 preset

Included is an instruction booklet, the phone, USB cord, and a cloud shaped SIM pin (I think the cloud pin was my favorite part).

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with a5 preset

When your phone is moving things to/from the cloud, the cloud on the back of your phone “rains”…there are 4 little LED lights that will light up to show you it’s working.  I think that is ridiculously adorable.

Processed with VSCOcam with a5 preset

And lastly, a side by side shot of the new kid on the block, and the phone that stayed by my side for the last few years and stuck it out longer than many phones get the chance to.

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

Leave a Reply

