flea market flip

So I’ve never actually watched an episode of Flea Market Flip, but it’s pretty easy to figure out what the plot is: visit a flea market, buy something, get crafty and make it into something new.  I love that idea, so I jumped at the chance to do my own project.

The budget I set for myself was $50 which was for everything.  Any supplies I had to purchase had to fall within $50.  I visited the Long Beach Antique Fair which was great…so much awesome stuff!  It wasn’t until I was about ready to leave that I got my starting piece.  I had no idea what I was looking for and was just waiting for something to pop out and inspire me.  I got two badminton racquets for $7 total.  A couple days later I was at Target and they had mini peg boards on clearance so I got one of those also.

I found images of embroidered racquets by Danielle Clough on Pinterest, and knew that was what I wanted to do for my project.  Some of her work below:

danielle

I wanted to do something that looked like it was coming out of the racquet, from 2D into 3D and I wanted the two racquets to come together to form one piece.  I ended up doing an ocean scene with an octopus trying to crawl out of it’s enclosure towards a whale.

This is what I began with:

Processed with VSCOcam with a6 preset

To make everything look like it went together, I painted over the blue paint and re-did the handle grip on the one racquet and also stained the pegboard a darker finish.

I mapped out my creatures using embroidery thread and used pipe cleaners/batting to make the octopus tentacles that were “coming to life”.  (these supplies I already had on hand)  After that it was just a lot of embroidery/weaving work.

IMG_6253

IMG_6348

Once those were finished, I used fishing line to attach them to the pegboard, and voila…done!

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

My total cost breakdown was:

  • Racquets: $7
  • Pegboard: $2.38
  • New Grip: $4.95
  • 6 Skeins of Yarn: $20.94

For a total of $35.27, well within budget! 🙂

 

2 thoughts on “flea market flip

  1. THIS. iS. SO. COOL. I’ve never seen anything like this before, and yours looks just as good (ok, maybe a little better, with the 3D effect) as your inspiration. I think I’ll have to give it a try, too!

Leave a Reply

